232 South Ohio Avenue
Sidney, OH 45365

Find Local Help

Student United Way Seeking Applicants


Application must be sent to:
Shelby County United Way
P.O. Box 751
Sidney, OH 45365
or emailed to sbarr@shelbycountyunitedway.org



The Shelby County Student United Way is seeking applicants to apply for up to $1,000 for youth programming.

The Shelby County Student United Way is proud to announce that they are accepting applications to allocate funds up to $1,000 to organizations or groups serving the youth while impacting our community.


The Student United Way is made up of local junior and senior leaders from all high schools in Shelby County. They will be working together to determine where the money will be awarded based on what they see as a need in the community.


Applications will be accepted in the following areas: mental health (counseling), substance abuse prevention, and food scarcity. Programing should specifically target the youth of Shelby County (18 and younger). Applications are available now and must be submitted on or before March 2, 2018. Applications can be attained at the Shelby County United Way Office or on the organization’s website.


Once applications are submitted, the committee will work to narrow the applications down to a select few who will then be interviewed. After March 8, 2018, applicants will be notified if they have been selected to come before and present their plan of action to the committee. The committee will hear presentations in April and award funds in May.


If you would like more information on the application process, contact Scott Barr at (937)-492-2101, or at sbarr@shelbycountyunitedway.org, or visit www.ShelbyCountyUnitedway.org.


The Student United Way Committee consists of Paige Lane and Grace Homan of Botkins High School, Riley Middendorf and Heather Eilerman of Fort Loramie High School, Michael Toal and Alexandria Baughman of Christian Academy, Lauren Monnin and Daniel Kearns of Russia High School, Emily Jones and Josiah Hudgins of Sidney High School, Claire Bensman and Carly Becker of Anna High School, Grace Olding and Kameron Lee of Lehman Catholic High School, T.J. Esser and Rylie Jackson of Jackson Center High School, Tyler Kelch and Skylar Jones of Fairlawn High School, and Ailia DeWitt and Angelina DiLullo of Houston High School.